Nathan Bransford blogged about The Pernicious Momentum of First Ideas. And I’m grateful!

I’m the kind of person who feels committed to whatever I have said I will do. This is a good thing, mostly. In writing, it can be a bad thing to get locked in by whatever first inspired me.

In book 2, things aren’t ending the way I’d planned, and the narrators are working better in a different order than I’d started out working toward. Nathan’s post gave me consciousness of my resistance to these changes, and permission to embrace them instead.

Of course progress and maturity will lead to different and better decisions than the ones from off the top of my head at the start. I’d been unconsciously viewing these changes from the original intent as a kind of cheating or expedience. They’re not.

